2019. September 15., Sunday

Academic Calendar

SZTE Academic Calendar for Academic Year 2019/2020


1st Semester


Registration Period: 26th August 2019 (Monday) – 31st August 2019 (Saturday)

Study Period: 2nd September 2019 (Monday) – 7th December 2019 (Saturday)

Autumn Break: 30th October 2019 (Wednesday) – 1st November 2019 (Friday)

Exam Period: 9th December 2019 (Monday) – 20th December 2019 (Friday)

2nd January 2020 (Thursday) – 25th January 2020 (Saturday)

Supplementary Exam Period: 27th January 2020 (Monday) – 1st February 2020 (Saturday)

Winter Break: 23th December 2019 (Monday) – 1st January 2020 (Wednesday)


2nd Semester


Study Period: 3rd February 2020 (Monday) – 16th May 2020 (Saturday)

Spring Break: 10th April 2020 (Friday) – 17th April 2020 (Friday)

Exam Period: 18th May 2020 (Monday) – 27th June 2020 (Saturday)

Supplementary Exam Period: 29th June 2020 (Monday) – 4th July 2020 (Saturday)

SZTE Academic Calendar for Academic Year 2018/2019


1st Semester


Study Period: 3rd September – 8th December, 2018 (14 weeks)

Autumn Break: 22nd October - 24th October, 2018 (3 days)

Exam Period: 10th – 21st December, 2018 (2 weeks) and 02nd – 26th January, 2019 (4 weeks)

Supplementary Exam Period: 28th January – 2nd February, 2019 (1 week)

Winter Break: 24th December, 2018 – 1st January, 2019 (1 week)


2nd Semester


Study Period: 4th February – 18th May, 2019 (14 weeks)
Spring Break: 25th – 29th March, 2019 (1 week)

Exam Period: 20th May – 29th June, 2019 (6 weeks)

Supplementary Exam Period: 1st - 6th July, 2019 (1 week)

SZTE Experience


PhuongPhuong Thu Tran - Faculty of Economics - Business Administration and Management

I live in Budapest, and I commute by train to Szeged every day. It’s not a huge distance for me, I got used to travelling back home. I study, watch the scenery or the people. Once I lost my wallet, and everyone around me tried to help. One of them offered to give me some money, another one offered to take me where I had to go. I love Szeged, Hungarians and nice, and I like the cuisine, though the spicy food is not spicy enough for my taste. I’m very happy to study here. At the Faculty of Economics, the program is practice-oriented, we get a lot of useful information and a lot of opportunities are offered by our professors.


AndiAndi Rahmat Saleh - Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - Ph.D. Studies

I’m a Ph.D. student from Indonesia and a Stipendium Hungaricum scholarship student. I first heard about the University of Szeged from the Tempus Foundation university list with excellent program descriptions, and it caught my eyes. My student life has been a pleasant one because of the beautiful environment, and TIK library facility. The teachers and staffs are accommodating, and my mentors and classmates also contributed to exploring the city with pleasant memories. The city is very affordable, and I live in a shared flat very close to the city center. In my free time, I engage in sporting activities or watch movies. My favorite spot is the Dugonics square, but my best attraction is the Tisza River. The University of Szeged is a beautiful experience for me, and I will recommend it to my friends. I am happy to be part of the University of Szeged.

More...