2019. July 21., Sunday

Academic Calendar

SZTE Academic Calendar for Academic Year 2019/2020


1st Semester


Registration Period: 26th August 2019 (Monday) – 31st August 2019 (Saturday)

Study Period: 2nd September 2019 (Monday) – 7th December 2019 (Saturday)

Autumn Break: 30th October 2019 (Wednesday) – 1st November 2019 (Friday)

Exam Period: 9th December 2019 (Monday) – 20th December 2019 (Friday)

2nd January 2020 (Thursday) – 25th January 2020 (Saturday)

Supplementary Exam Period: 27th January 2020 (Monday) – 1st February 2020 (Saturday)

Winter Break: 23th December 2019 (Monday) – 1st January 2020 (Wednesday)


2nd Semester


Study Period: 3rd February 2020 (Monday) – 16th May 2020 (Saturday)

Spring Break: 10th April 2020 (Friday) – 17th April 2020 (Friday)

Exam Period: 18th May 2020 (Monday) – 27th June 2020 (Saturday)

Supplementary Exam Period: 29th June 2020 (Monday) – 4th July 2020 (Saturday)

SZTE Academic Calendar for Academic Year 2018/2019


1st Semester


Study Period: 3rd September – 8th December, 2018 (14 weeks)

Autumn Break: 22nd October - 24th October, 2018 (3 days)

Exam Period: 10th – 21st December, 2018 (2 weeks) and 02nd – 26th January, 2019 (4 weeks)

Supplementary Exam Period: 28th January – 2nd February, 2019 (1 week)

Winter Break: 24th December, 2018 – 1st January, 2019 (1 week)


2nd Semester


Study Period: 4th February – 18th May, 2019 (14 weeks)
Spring Break: 25th – 29th March, 2019 (1 week)

Exam Period: 20th May – 29th June, 2019 (6 weeks)

Supplementary Exam Period: 1st - 6th July, 2019 (1 week)

SZTE Experience


Imane_CherbiImane Cherbi - Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

My name is Cherbi Imane and I am 23 years old from Algeria. I am spending my last semester at the University of Szeged Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. Being an MA student of Applied Linguistics, University of Szeged offered me a chance to gain sufficient knowledge about my field of study. I choose the University of Szeged simply because it is a highly ranked academic institution both nationally and internationally; also because of the variety of programs that they have for international students.

I love everything in Szeged: every corner of every street, I will always keep them in my heart. I take photos of the city when walking around and I am planning to launch a blog to promote this beautiful corner of Hungary among international students. People of Szeged are caring, always smiling and we are living peacefully together. I have never felt isolated or neglected. As a coffee lover, i always enjoy having my favorite type of coffee in different coffees in Szeged. Lookin for calmness and nature vibes, I would certainly walk by the Tisza river whenever I want.


Christopher_SolamanChristopher Solaman - Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - German Studies

The Student life here is buzzing with hundreds of international students from all around the world. What I love in here is that you bump into students everywhere, from both Hungary and all around the world, and that despite our differences we are kinda accepted in town. I looked University of Szeged up on the internet and, when I saw that this was called the city of sunshine, it became clear in my mind that it would be the place, where I wanted to be as an Erasmus student. Szeged was far beyond my expectations, and I am glad to be able to admire the beauty of this city. The nature itself has the power to calm me down, so the Botanic Garden of the University is a special place to me.

More...